Citizens seeking public office can officially register as of Friday, December 1.  Wakefield seats up for election are: Wakefield Mayor, Ward 1 Councilperson and Ward 2 Councilperson.  Incumbents will have until February 15, 2018 to register for reelection.  New candidates will have until March 1, 2018 to do so.  Interested persons can register at the City Office during open hours.  2018 Primary Election will be held on May 15th.  The General Election will be held November 6th.

Wakefield is a second-class city with a population of 1451.

Wakefield is governed by a Mayor and a four member City Council, which are all elected positions. Wakefield employees a City Administrator, who oversees the day-to-day operations of the City and reports to the Mayor/City Council.

City Council meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 5:30 p.m.  All agenda items must be submitted to the City Clerk 24 hours prior to the meeting.

The City is divided into two Wards with the division being 5th Street.  North of 5th Street is Ward l and south of 5th Street is Ward ll.

Mike Loofe

Council Members
Ward l 
Ross Hansen
Larry Clay
Ward ll
Paul Eaton-President
Larry Soderberg

City Administrator
Jim Litchfield

 City Clerk
Zach Dolen

City Attorney
Leland Miner